August 16, 2012

Sixth in a Series
[View First in the Series]
[View Second in the Series]
[View Third in the Series]
[View Fourth in the Series]
[View Fifth in the Series]

Health Care Reform Compliance Checklist for Plan Sponsors

Now that the Supreme Court has upheld the constitutionality of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act, as amended by the Health Care and Education Reconciliation Act (collectively, the “Act”), employers should move forward with implementation. The series of newsletter articles we have provided focused on the changes that most immediately affect employer group health plans and may require immediate attention, especially for employers who have taken a wait-and-see approach in hopes that the Act would be invalidated.

This alert, the sixth and last in the series, contains a checklist that provides a summary of the principal requirements under the Act, beginning with those that first became effective in 2010 and continuing through those that will become effective in 2018.

The following individuals are members of our Health Care Reform team.



EMPLOYEE BENEFITS
Tom Hoecker
602.382.6361
thoecker@swlaw.com
Marvin Swift
602.382.6211
mswift@swlaw.com
Nancy Campbell
602.382.6374
ncampbell@swlaw.com

Denise Atwood
602.382.6297
datwood@swlaw.com

Anne Meyer
602.382.6595
ameyer@swlaw.com
Greg Gautam
602.382.6356
ggautam@swlaw.com
Eva Merz
602.382.6245
emerz@swlaw.com
Kevin Hogan
602.382.6185
khogan@swlaw.com
HEALTH CARE
Anne Bishop
602.382.6267
abishop@swlaw.com
Eric Kintner
602.382.6552
ekintner@swlaw.com
Sara Agne
602.382.6026
sagne@swlaw.com
LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT
Gerard Morales
602.382.6362
jmorales@swlaw.com
Becky Wintersheidt
602.382.6343
bwinterscheidt@swlaw.com
Kate King
602.382.6332
kking@swlaw.com
TAX
Craig McPike
602.382.6538
cmcpike@swlaw.com
BIOSCIENCE, PHARMACEUTICAL AND MEDICAL DEVICE

Pat Fowler
602.382.6213
pfowler@swlaw.com

Angela Perez
602.382.6354
alperez@swlaw.com

George Ng
714.427.7444
gng@swlaw.com
Dan Mahoney
602.382.6206
dmahoney@swlaw.com

William Pedranti
714.427.7445
wpedranti@swlaw.com

Dan Wittenberg
303.634.2072
dwittenberg@swlaw.com


 

©2012 All rights reserved. The purpose of this legal alert is to provide readers with information on current topics of general interest and nothing herein shall be construed to create, offer or memorialize the existence of an attorney-client relationship. The content should not be considered legal advice or opinion, because it may not apply to the specific facts of a particular matter. Please contact a Snell & Wilmer attorney with any questions.

Circular 230 Disclaimer: To ensure compliance with Treasury Regulations governing written tax advice, please be advised that any tax advice included in this communication, including any attachments, is not intended, and cannot be used, for the purpose of (i) avoiding any federal tax penalty or (ii) promoting, marketing, or recommending any transaction or matter to another person.


Snell & Wilmer L.L.P. | One Arizona Center | 400 East Van Buren Street | Suite 1900 | Phoenix, Arizona 85004
The material in this legal alert may not be reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached or otherwise used, except with the written permission of Snell & Wilmer L.L.P.